Fourth Ward Hook & Ladder Company
The site of the Frenchtown Museum and Research Center was originally a firehouse built in 1880. It was known into the next century as the Fourth Ward Hook & Ladder Company or Hose Company No. 2. The Brown Brothers Garage converted the building to suit their needs circa 1943. In June of 2003, the hard work of volunteers was showcased at the Fleur-de-lis Festival when one room of the Frenchtown Heritage Museum was opened to the public. Then in 2005 the City of St. Charles provided a grant to rebuild the façade to the original look of this historic building. March of 2006 saw much of the work complete and on the 24th day of that month the bell tower was hoisted into place. There is still so much to be done and the museum is still a work in progress.